Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.

I love Dr. Seuss. I have loved him for as long as I can remember. I am convinced that Dr. Seuss is the reason I learned to read at an early age. Well, Dr. Seuss via my brilliant mother and big sister who would have reading races with me using the very famous “Fox in Sox“. What a wonderful way to learn to read!

You never feel like you are the only one making mistakes when the mistakes are so utterly ridiculous and impossible not to make as is proven by your brilliant Mummy’s tripping over phrases like, “First, I’ll make a quick trick brick stack. Then I’ll make a quick trick block stack.” and reinforced by your beautiful big sister, whom you admire more than any other (still do!), who struggles to spit out, “Who sews whose socks? Sue sews Sue’s socks. Who sees who sew whose new socks, sir? You see Sue sew Sue’s new socks, sir. That’s not easy, Mr. Fox, sir.”

The goal was to read as far as you possibly could without making a mistake. When (not if!) someone made a mistake it was time to pass the book and give the next person a chance to beat the record. On and on it went until eventually we reached the end of the book. Great fun! The excellent repetition a beginning reader needs in a funny, colourful, entertaining book through a fantastic activity. Perfection. It is one of my fondest childhood memories. Honestly. There were some serious belly laughs shared over “Fox in Sox”.

Dr. Seuss’ birthday is on Sunday March 2.  If he was still celebrating birthdays he would have a BIG cake with 110 candles this year!  Isn’t that remarkable? I bet he’d have a pretty amazing cake, but I digress…

Every year on Dr. Seuss’ Birthday at Chez Peady we celebrate by having Green Eggs and Ham. Oh yes we do!

Green eggs

“Greener-than-Green” Green Eggs! How? Blue food colouring because yellow and blue make green! Yay! Science & Art!

Green eggs and ham

Here is a plated portion of green eggs & ham with a tortilla.

Green eggs and ham (Tex-Mex)

Green Eggs & Ham + Tortilla, cheese and salsa! Olé!

So, you must tell me…

Do you celebrate the Birthday of Dr. Seuss?

Is it a formal occasion? Do you really let loose?

Are there Green Eggs and Ham on all of your plates?

How do you mark this most important of dates?

Do you have a big battle in a bottle with paddles?

Do you tell lots of stories, some tales and some tattles?

Is hopping on Pop more of your scene?

Just tell me right now, you’ve got to come clean!

P.S. We will also be reading all of our Dr. Seuss books tomorrow and there will definitely be a “Fox in Sox” race! After all Thing 1 and Thing 2 have Dr. Seuss built right in!

P.P.S. Here are a few links to help you with your own Dr. Seuss Day celebrations!

P.P.P.S. Please come back and tell me what kind of fun things you did to celebrate! Thanks!

Random House maintains this most excellent “Seussville” site. http://www.seussville.com

An interesting set of surprising Seuss facts. http://www.history.com/news/9-things-you-may-not-know-about-dr-seuss

Terrific list of Dr. Seuss’ books. How many have you read? http://childrensbooksguide.com/dr-seuss-books-list

Here are 10 interesting facts about Dr. Seuss books. http://visual.ly/10-facts-about-dr-seuss-books

This list of 30 quotes is simply awesome! I especially love #17! http://www.mamiverse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/30DrSeuss_quotes.jpg

This is an amazingly comprehensive collection of Dr. Seuss goodies! Yup! Totally obSEUSSed!

obSEUSSedLinkCollection
You can even follow @Seussville on Twitter, but it seems like there isn’t anyone manning their account lately. That’s a shame! Twitter is such  great way to engage and celebrate.

39 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

    • Isn’t that the best? Hearing them reading a book cover to cover? Very exciting times! 😀

      Yay! Yes thank you Dr. Seuss!

      And thank *you* for reading my blog and sharing your story. 🙂

  1. I was at a birthday party tonight for someone who is turning 50 on March 2 and she commented that it was Dr. Seuss’s bday too. And now I see it here again. I love when that stuff happens. Happy Birthday to both 🙂

    • Oh! How fun! I love when that stuff happens, too!

      I hope she has some crazy Thing 1 & Thing 2 cupcakes!
      (Red Velvet with gravity defying blue frosting!)

      Yes, Happy Birthday to both! 🙂

  2. LOL! now I’ve got a hubbie trying to rhyme in the kitchen and it’s mighty Bitch’n. Make it stop! I will have to hop! off to bed so no more will be said.

  3. Such great memories! She really knew how to make learning fun. Fox in Sox competition at breakfast never got old. We had some pretty heated contests with the bros. You have inherited those parenting talents and your kids just think they’re having fun!

    • “Great memories” is right! I also recall reading that book in the big bed with the dyed purple ballerinas bedspread. I was teeny!! 😀

      Fun is definitely the best way to learn. Learning *is* fun. “Study”, however, can suck the joy right out of that learning, so you have to find the right balance!

      Thank goodness I had good teachers!

    • “Go Dog, Go” is a popular one!

      It was never my favourite. I loved “Fox in Sox” most of all “And To Think that I Saw it on Mulberry Street” was also a fun one to read!

      And yes, I *do* like your hat! 😀

  4. Hi Peady! Love the Green Eggs and Ham meal! Thanks for popping over and celebrating with us too! Love your blog and tweets! Yippie for Dr. Seuss, so many life meaningful quotes to be taken from his “children’s” books.

    • Hiya! Thanks for swinging by, reading and commenting! I appreciate that very much. It’s always nice to know another Dr. Seuss fan! 😀

      I made Thing 1 & Thing 2 cupcakes for dessert. So cute! Easy! I should share. I loved the activities you shared on your blog and that I got to wish *you* Happy Birthday, too!

      Yes, you are so right! So many “children’s” books have all the life lessons we need! 😉

  5. My favourite is the ear book. And next is the one that goes One thumb, two thumb, drumming on a drum. Once I saw the cat in the hat in Latin. I had to buy it.

    • Dum ditty, dum ditty, dum dum dum!

      Such a great book for babies and getting that fascinating rhythm drummed into them! 😉

      I love The Ear Book, too! There were so many in that “I Can Read it All By Myself” library. I also loved, “Put Me in the Zoo” and a few others that were *not* Dr. Seuss, but grouped into the “library”.

  6. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss! (Part Deux: Cupcakes!) | Tempered with Kindness

  7. We don’t celebrate it but Ethan loves those books. They are probably his favourite books. I should start celebrating it next year !!! For sure. Ethan and his new little brother 🙂

    • I’ll send you a reminder!

      I am kind of hoping one of these years the Things will take over and come up with a new tradition. Wouldn’t that be fun! Thing 1 *really* wants sunny side up eggs with green yolks. Just like in the book! I have yet to figure out how I can achieve this!

  8. Pingback: Me! Me! Me! Meeeee! | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

