Is your March Break half full or half empty?

Much to the chagrin of Thing 1, March Break is now half over. He loathes this fact. He doesn’t want to be reminded of it or the time. Ever.

This is especially challenging because Thing 2 absolutely loves telling time. Loves it. If given the opportunity she’d announce every tick of the clock, well, every tick of the clock!

She loves announcing the passage of time so much these days that yesterday when we were in a rush (and quite late!) to make it to an appointment for Thing 1, I told her if she announced the time again during the drive she was going to have a new nickname – Big Ben.

We talk a lot about not wishing our days away at Chez Peady. We try to live in the moment. Thing 2 is clearly the best at this. When she was a baby – you should know she was talking pretty early on – one of the best and most astute things she ever said was “Be here now”. I am actually tearing up as I type that because it’s just so perfect. Such a brilliantly simple concept. Three little words. Be here now. Our Zen baby.

March Break should be an awesome week whether you are on a beach somewhere in the tropics or you are staying at home and things are pretty much business as usual. We find doing a little something special each day works best for everyone involved. It’s very important to find the right balance of “out doing something” and downtime. You don’t want to burn out and need a vacation from your vacation, but you also don’t want to waste your time away doing too much of absolutely nothing. It’s not a crazy race to live your life in one day*, but a way to spend time together while experiencing something enjoyable, familiar, interesting or new.

A week off school for Thing 2 is a week of adventure and time to play, use her imagination, do whatever she wants; living in the moment is a great trait to have when there’s a whole week of freedom. Thing 1 feels pressure right off the bat. “Oh no! It’s already Monday! I haven’t even read on the patio yet. I better get that done right now.” So out he went, still in his PJs, in *very* cold temperatures to read a bit of “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”. I have to hand it to him, when his determination and focus line up he’s unstoppable.

As you may have already read, I really enjoy finding fun, frugal or FREE things to do with my Things. I thought maybe I would share a few photos with you to show you some of the things we’ve been up to, so far, this week. Sound good? Great!

*I just gave myself a Howard Jones mind worm that sent me down a must-find-that-video rabbit hole. Meanwhile, how can there not be a single website with the official video for “Life in One Day”? Not even HoJo’s itself. Come on! Really?! I’m disappointed in you internet web toobz. I thought you were more reliable than that.

20 thoughts on “Is your March Break half full or half empty?

  1. Zen! Love it! I’ve been working on enjoying the process and then the moment- Not being in such a hurry or rushed. As my kids get older it becomes more and more real that one day they just won’t need me in the same ways or as often and I will miss that so sometimes when I feel a grumble coming on over doing one more thing for them- especially if it’s really mundane, I stop for a second and remember they will be gone one day–sniff.
    Loved your pics- well except for the snake:)

    • Yes! That’s my girl. πŸ˜€

      Oh you are *so* right! That’s it! For so long they seem still and same and permanent. Then you blink and they’re leaving for university! πŸ˜‰

      Thanks! Yeah, “Crush” was pretty impressive! You should have seen him sniffing at the little children with his tongue! *shudders*

  2. You get more done in a half week than we do in a year. Mind you, living in Mexico is mostly to blame (post coming about that, smile).

    Can you tell me more about the chalkboard mug!? I remember you tweeting about eating those worms.

    Keep the posts coming.

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    • It really makes a HYOOGE (yes, that’s the spelling I consciously chose.. just go with it) difference to be in a city with a lot going on.

      Library with Star Trek check out Monday, free. Library w/ Iceberg Exotics Reptiles Tuesday, Free. Symphony NS Launch Wednesday, Free. Note the first Library was in Halifax and the second in Bedford(10 minutes in either direction) I am sandwiched between two excellent branches! πŸ˜€

      The chalkboard mug is a “Gibson” brand mug, but I bet there’s a chalkboard paint for dish wear- so you could make one! It was very inexpensive, came in a cute box with a single piece of chalk. They belong to Thing 1 & Thing 2, but they’re not territorial and support my silliness. :>

      I never *once* said I ate those worms. πŸ™‚ I said I was thinking about you. Heh heh. I took lots of pictures! I did not eat a bug. I’ll check the price today and we can compare!

      Thank you for reading and for your support! (There’s a learning curve, for sure. Yesterday was frustrating!)

      Besos back atcha!

  3. Your week looks great !! Things have grown up so much. Well, this week I have been fighting with upper arms pain. Can’t lift my arms, not sure if this was part of being pregnant. Going to see my OB next week. But hey, we went for sushi buffet yesterday.

    • Oohhh! Sushi buffet! πŸ˜€

      Sorry about the arm pain. Hrrmm. Pregnancies are all so different! Symptoms sometimes just pop up out of the blue and it is never the same twice! You’ll have to let me know what OB says.

      The Things are having a nice week. yesterday was a down time day. We needed it plus the weather was perfect for not going out!

      Thank you for visiting!

    • Thank you! It was the source of and solution to all of my frustration yesterday! πŸ˜‰

      I love you more now, for mentioning it. πŸ˜€

      We are having a very *free* centric week. Mamma like!

    • Hah! We don’t discriminate at Chez Peady! You know this to be true, yes? πŸ˜€ *sings* “We are the world.. we are the children…”

      She even added the accessibility for the playmobil girl in the wheelchair. That Thing 2! What a fine humanitarian. πŸ™‚

    • And *that* is why we will forever be friends. πŸ˜€

      After Iceberg Exotics all Things were encouraged to use hand sanitizer. Then *my* Things went to the washrooms to wash their hands with soap and water because of course! πŸ™‚

      Then we went to a candy store. There was a LOT of motivation to have lickable fingers. πŸ˜›

    • Thank you! They are really nice people. πŸ™‚

      Thing 2 is *so* excited to get back to school to see her friends and play and plan her birthday and and and just *everything*!

      Thing 1. Oh dear. My dear, dear Thing 1. School is just not in his “these are a few of my favourite things” list, you know? It’s never been easy. It takes so much time.

      I will have to have my special “Pollyanna” pants on this week! πŸ˜‰

      Thank you so much for swinging by, taking your time to spend with me. I appreciate it so much! πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Fin. | Tempered with Kindness

  5. Pingback: S.U.N.D.A.Y. (Sunny Understanding. Not Denying Autumn. You? ) | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

