This is Planet Hoth

Oh, April darling. You are the funniest month yet. I just can’t get enough of your amazing sense of humour and jovial, bringing-all-the-yuks-all-the-time ways.*

Yes. It is April Fool’s Day. Yes. Atlantic Canada is having another spring storm. Oh, I know that it’s “winter” weather, but a few days ago in a brief moment of clarity, in the 35 minute window of calm, before yet another storm front, a friend decided maybe Spring was feeling snubbed with all the “Winter” storm reporting and was merely waiting for a mention, to take its place in the limelight, so I stopped saying winter. Yes. Even though there was a blizzard blowing outside my window.

Did it work?

It totallyΒ did!

APRIL FOOLS!!!

Of course it didn’t work, because this winter is NEVER going to end. EVER!

We are at home yet again. It’s Tuesday. That’s a refreshing change** from Wednesday, isn’t it? The school buses were cancelled and as per our policy*** so, too, was school.

We knew there would be freezing rain today, but we really didn’t believe it would be followed by more snow and blowing snow and falling snow and snowing snow and snow snow snow snow snow! Oops! Sorry. Forgive me. It’s all been a bit much to handle.

Thank goodness for Things who know how to entertain themselves****, a husband who can work from home when the weather is stormy and a sense of humour that is firmly in place, because otherwise I would absolutelyΒ be adopting hermitage as a valid life choice. I live pretty close to the edge of hermitage, these days, anyway. I mean, it’s not like I can go anywhere in this yucky weather and we have enough cereal for a Seinfeld episode, so we won’t starve. Maybe we should just take that final leap?

 

 

Meanwhile, life on Hoth is not all that bad.

It’s always bright.

There’s no shortage of ice for our drinks.

We hear the Tauntauns are arriving any day now.

So far no one has been frozen to the ceiling.

 

I’m just going to wait here for Han Solo to rescue me.

 

So, how was the weather where you live today?

Please tell me it was spring-like.

Like Obi-Wan, you might be my only hope!

 

*Lilith Sternin implied.

**There has been a “weather event” every Wednesday since December (pretty much) in The Maritimes.

***It’s in the manifesto!

****There was a Disney Channel marathon, some CPU time, an awesome animal rescue invention building session, some reading, a game of “Guess Who? Mix n’ Mash”, and a rousing game of “Can You Escape?”. Yup.

30 thoughts on “This is Planet Hoth

  1. Beautiful pics of a stormy day. Lucky you with a school board that has common sense! Our buses were also pulled off the road but our school remained OPEN! I ended up in a catch-22 where my in-service was cancelled at the last minute, my sub was already at school, and my admin was mad because now they had no code to pay the sub but they couldn’t send her home so, dear oh dear! All that, I believe there were 25 students who came to school (out of 650). Yes, it was a special day!

    • No no. The School Board didn’t cancel school. Interpret as you will. :>

      Buses were pulled and so the parents at Chez Peady cancelled school. Because LOGIC!! πŸ˜€

      Your day was really convoluted! Did it all work out in the end? Such complication should not exist! Poor you!

      That’d make a heck of a blog post, though, wouldn’t it? πŸ™‚

      • I practically wrote a blog post in your comment section. My apologies. I was ranting! Very glad the parents at Chez Peady have common sense. My son was allowed to sleep the day away as well. Let’s get the sun back, shall we?

      • Always say what you need to say! That’s what comments are for and I LOVE lengthy ones because this is how to keep a conversation going! πŸ˜€

        You may use up as much comment space as you like! You have good things to say! That is awesome. πŸ™‚

        I love that your son was allowed to be as mellow a fellow as possible. Everybody needs a day to reset, now and then.

        How many days ’til summer? πŸ˜‰

  2. We were also out of school today, as you know. I’m so tired of this weather. On the plus side it’s been warm enough today I got out walking and the snow banks may have shrunk. I resorted to shoveling with my kids to get out side and exercise.

      • Is that right?!? Really?!? Oh we’ll have to make a chart!

        We just received Term 2 reports, so it seems too early to be thinking about summer vacation. πŸ˜‰

        The sun is shining brightly today and I not only heard, but saw many birds today on my walk! Yay!

  3. Please don’t ever lose your sense of humour because this made me laugh out loud! I am truly sorry for the crappy weather hand you’ve been dealt this winter. Let’s hope summer makes up for it in spades!

    • Yay! I am glad it made you laugh. If I ever lose my sense of humour, I’m done for! πŸ˜€

      When snow just keeps falling day after day? If I didn’t laugh, I’d cry!

      If *anyone* complains about it being too warm this summer, we may have a “news at 11” sit’i’ation on our hands! Hah! I hope someone will be willing to bail me out. πŸ˜‰

  4. This weather sucks. I can’t say anything else without releasing a torrent of words about how wind-blown my mental health currently is.

    • I know. *hugs* It’s true! We have to laugh.

      You know what made me feel better today? Seeing photos from Cape Breton ~ HOLY!

      I know spring is on the way. I’m just going to think warm thoughts until it arrives.

  5. We finally had springish days yesterday and today. Still have ginourmous snow banks, but the dog poo is slowly making an appearance. Have not yet smelled a skunk or seen a robin, so we are a ways off yet, but there is hope!

    • And today! Oh today is glorious! πŸ˜€

      Star Wars is a part of our lives. The joy of a geeky household and two mini geeks in training. Though, Daddy-O is a Trekkie/Trekker and it is the subject of much debate! πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for reading!

  6. Can you give me more regarding the cereal reference. Love me some Seinfeld on a -54 spring day in April.

    What app did you use to do your photo dump? Want it.

    Happy to hear that you won’t run out of ice. I ran out of limes once, it wasn’t pretty.

    Besos, Sarah

    • Bwa ha ha ha! -54 is what it has been feeling like, pretty much. Jerry pretty much lived on cereal. He ordered it in restaurants!! His apartment always had a great supply. Go watch any episode – right now – I’ll wait. πŸ˜‰

      Now you’ll never *not* be able to notice the cereal. πŸ˜€

      Photo “dump”? Dump. Hah! No no! We prefer “mosaic”. πŸ˜› It is a widget from WP. Yup! There for everyone!

      *gasp* No limes!? That is not okay! Oh the cervezas would be so sad then and who’s to say what would become of the Margaritas!!?

  7. Ugh. Those pictures break my heart. I woke up at nine and it was 65 outside, going into the mid-80’s today. I knew there was a reason I moved to South Carolina from New York. I keep checking their weather and telling all my family to move down south.

    • I know! Right?

      There’s hope though. Today is very spring-like and I went for a huge walk with my BFF and by the end of it I had my jacket wide open! It was very happy making! πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading!

  8. I just saw this post today! You don’t want to know where I live – mostly Sunny, but lately thunderstormy FL. Love the post, I am a Star Wars fanatic! And, there is nothing cooler than a smart and witty, female Star Wars Fan – Go Fangirl Go!

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€

      That snowy day was not nearly as long ago as it should have been. πŸ˜‰ We survived! The sun is shining today and I hear birds singing, too!

      Maybe Mother Nature is finally back on track?

      Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind words. πŸ™‚ That is so cool! I have never been to FL, but I think every single person I know has! πŸ˜€

  9. Pingback: Mele Kalikimaka! | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

