Happy Earth Day!

It’s Earth Day and I am just about to head outside for a walk with my NS BFF. Apparently we are going to take a new-to-me path. It’s a good thing I trust her, or I might be worried.

IMG_8563

Oooh! I like how it’s all mapped out! It speaks to the control freak in me. (There is also a QR code speaking to the geek in me!)

Earth Day is a great day to recommit to reconnecting with nature.

Remember when you used to just go outside and play? Do that again.

It doesn’t matter if you are tired. You can be tired outside.

It doesn’t mater if you are anxious. You can be anxious outside.

Though, I am willing to bet you won’t be as anxious when you are out there as you were when you were inside dwelling on it.

That’s the thing about nature. It just makes everything better, calmer, more reasonable.

Isn’t it time we all go outside and play?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

16 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!

  1. Thanks for sharing your lovely outing with us- looks like you guys had gorgeous weather too! I know what you mean about feeling nervous in the outdoors….and in the winter time the silence is calming yet can be unsettling too. I’d like to give orienteering a try this year- get me outdoors in an active way and if I get lost I’ll get found too!

    • It was a gorgeous day! I am happy there are happy trails! ๐Ÿ˜€

      I never feel nervous in the outdoors. I am however very suspicious of my NS BFF’s orienteering skills.:P Today her solution to getting lost was, “Well we can always just turn around and go back. Why doesn’t anybody ever try that when they’re lost in the woods!?” Hah! I love her!

      The best part was that the ground was great for annoying feet! Plus it was brand new wood chippy surface. The hot – yeah I said that! – sun was also pretty sweet!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! It’s very kind of you and so happy making!

  2. It has been raining here all day. We did go out and collect worms (about 30) and put them in the garden and watch them dig themselves in! It was kind of cool, and we rescued worms from drowning in puddles or being run over by cars.

    • I love that!! Thing 2 and I always rescue worms on rainy days. We had a BIG rainy day not too long ago and it was such a welcome change from the winter weather that we were saving those little survivors right left and centre on the way to the bus. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I *love* that you placed them in your garden. Excellent! It’s so great to pause long enough to see nature at work, isn’t it?

      And playing in the dirt? Hello! Pure joy!

    • It was my first time on it. I can’t believe how much Halifax has changed in the time that we were away from N.S. It’s shocking to see so many things being built.

      I am thankful that the city has the foresight to build up these green spaces. Just because it’s a city doesn’t mean it has to be a concrete jungle!

      Oooh! If you find a great new trail, please share it because I, for one, feel very motivated to get moving when I have a new place to explore. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • They really are! It was pretty dry considering the time of year, but I bet it’s really swampy in the Fall!

      I will be taking the Things there on the weekend. I want to get them to read the bog sign and look for some of the things. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It is! Yes. You see the trails surround some sports fields, so everyone is welcome (even doggies – on leash!) to come and enjoy the space! Isn’t that cool?

      The Linear Trail goes on for what seems like forever. The Loop Trail, well.. loops! So you could technically do laps on the loop. I’d do it just to be able to say “I’m doing loop laps today!”, but I have issues. Clearly. ๐Ÿ˜€

      All this to say, if you have a dog on a leash and enjoy hiking and baseball and nature and putting your garbage where it belongs, you should *totally* come and do some loop laps! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was my first time at this trail.

      Hemlock Ravine is awesome! It’s a really good route for exercise, but also so beautiful all year round.

      Thank you for reading! I appreciate it!

    • Exactly! I really try to be outside as often as I can.

      Today (Thursday – rainy, grey, icky, hail, snow, rain) nearly did me in! I really hope Friday is sunny! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Nice post. It’s true that we sometimes have to push ourselves outside (past the excuse of being tired or anxious) and often nature and movement helps calm and give us energy.

    • Thank you.

      Yes. You are right. I agree wholeheartedly.

      I always feel better after I have been outside. Playing, walking, sitting by the waiter’s edge. It all makes me feel happier!

      Thank you for reading. It means a lot!

Leave a Reply

