Some like it hot!

If you consider the following and think mainly about what R2-D2 is capable of accomplishing during a yoga class (hot, cold or otherwise) then you will have a pretty clear picture of what I looked like on Saturday.

yoga-star-wars-illustrations-7

 

Moksha Yoga in Bedford had an open house on Saturday April 26, 2014 as a way of celebrating their one year anniversary and offered FREE classes all day long. How amazing is that? I had been driving by their big billboard for a month or so and every time I’d think to myself, ‘I should really see if I can rope NS BFF into going with me to try a class.’ and then ‘SQUIRREL!’. The thought would vanish in a swirling cyclone of all the other more important or pressing things that actually needed doing and I’d be no closer to trying hot yoga. Until I’d drive by the giant billboard the next time and go through pretty much the exact same sequence. (Billboards work, by the way, in case that isn’t apparent, but I digress…)

Then out of the blue on the 24th my NS BFF sent me a link to the Open House schedule and once I opened that e-mail, it was a done deal. I *had* to do it!

Aren’t best friends just the best for the way they read our minds, dare us to be different and encourage us to step *way* outside of our comfort zones? I think so.

It’s a positive kind of peer pressure. I can’t say no and she can’t back out because she started it. Forget the fact that I have been threatening to rope her in – in my mind – for over a month. I’ll just let her think it was her idea and go along with it. *grins*

So it was decided we were definitely going to a class on Saturday, but then the trouble was deciding which class. I’ll spare you the ridiculousness we went through trying to decide. Honestly. It should not have been that complicated. We were tired last week. Let’s just leave it at that. Suffice it to say that at 8:30 (AM!) on Saturday we were headed to a yoga studio to take in our very first yoga class. It was a seventy-five minute class. Oh, and you should know it was also in a very hot room and we were to be “silent”.

*blank stare*

I’ll just wait here while that sinks in.

Yup. Me. Seventy-five minutes. Silent.

There were many, many, many challenges during this, my very first, yoga class, but above all else not talking was the hardest.

No giggling. No joking. No witty banter with my NS BFF. No asking questions! Heck, we could barely make eye contact for fear of bursting out in uncontrollable belly laughter.

 

Challenge extended.

Challenge accepted.

Mission accomplished.

Achievement unlocked.

 

I *totally* did it and as per the manifesto I did not die. (Go me!)

In retrospect, a seventy-five minute hot yoga class in a silent room is probably not the best choice for a newbie. On the other hand, it really was something completely new and since remedial yoga is not a thing, one really must embrace the idea that everyone – no matter how amazing now – once had a first time and also felt awkward and confused.

I absolutely loved the energy of the people who are running Moksha Bedford. Our instructor was excellent. I believe that they believe deeply in what they do. You can feel that when you speak with them. I was made to feel comfortable and welcome and that means a lot!

There is a tank shirt hanging in the entryway that reads “Practice Makes Practice”. I think this sums up the philosophy of the kind folks at Moksha… perfectly.

 

Balance is tricky at the best of times… take away my orthotics and well.. tip me over and pour me out!

Yoga Poses
Dog

All kidding aside, who wouldn’t like to have this kind of power, strength and fitness? Wow!

Holy Ashtanga! Amazing!

 

So, have you tried anything new lately? Are you a fan of yoga? Do you practice yoga on a regular basis? What advice would you give to someone about to attend their very first class? Do you like your yoga regular or extra crispy?

http://www.bitrebels.com/geek/star-wars-yoga-the-illustrated-edition/

**Seriously, “Downward Facing Cake” I laughed for far too long. I make no apologies.

40 thoughts on “Some like it hot!

  1. Lola- I love the Star Wars and the suggested list of yoga poses….yes being quiet and having a still mind can be so challenging but quite the workout. Sooooo I tried something new, ballet….haven’t done it since I was 5 years old. The teacher was super sweet and the music was all piano music but to contemporary songs so there I was envisioning myself gracefully swooping over my pointed toes to Lady Gaga – ballet- piano- style. It felt great but that was also a month ago so hoping that the planets align again for me and my ballet buddies to make it to this week’s class. It is always more fun when you have a ‘buddy’!

    • “The Star Wars Yoga: Illustrated Edition” is the best! I included the link, so people could see just how awesome. Real poses. Perfect. Also, was not kidding about feeling like R2. πŸ˜‰

      Being “quiet” I can do. Being “silent”? Hoo boy! HARD!!

      Ballet!?! Oh! I love that! I would love to take ballet! Honestly, it’s amazing when you find something that reminds you a) of when you were a kiddo, b) you have a lot more power and strength than you probably know, and c) you can still *totally* rock a tutu – should the need ever arise. πŸ˜€

      Oh, do go back! Grab your chicas and go!

      Yes! The buddy system is helpful no matter what you do!

      Namaste, Chica!

  2. I forgot to mention that I was wearing me “Nobody puts baby in the corner” t-shirt…yup I let my inner Dirty Dancing diva SHINE!!!!!

  3. I used to do a Pilates class 3 days a week when I was a student at MUN but stopped when I had to pay for them…as if! lol. I tried to get back into yoga when I had a gym membership here but it’s harder to go alone when you feel out of shape and out of sync with everyone else. I may pick up another class soon though because I miss the energy you get from a great yoga session πŸ™‚

    • I have a dear friend who *loves* Pilates. She practices all the time and has stuck with it. Isn’t that the trick? Finding something you enjoy and can continue to do for your whole lifetime is a worthy goal.

      I bet you could find a group of friends and a good Pilates class nearby! I’d like to try that, too. πŸ˜€

      A buddy makes all the difference, for sure! Especially one like my NS BFF who gets me and knows *not* to make eye contact during a “silent” anything. *snorks* πŸ˜‰

  4. too many people in a yoga room. I have no desire to be in a multiple person room type thing. I left Gym class in grade 9. :O I do though enjoy the few yoga poses that came with my wiifit with the privacy of my own home and head space.

    • I get that. I think it would be amazing to have private lessons, but that’s what the Wii is great at! Honestly. If it is about a personal journey, anyway, then maybe going solo isn’t all that “out there”.

      Thank you for your undying support of my silliness. I appreciate it very much. πŸ™‚

    • I think it is kind of awesome, but definitely a seventy-five minute class for the beginner is ill advised. πŸ™‚

      Ultimately, I feel good two days later. I didn’t hurt myself and I have no pain. I am sure the heat allows for gentle stretching – and stretching beyond what one might be otherwise capable of… good and bad. Great if you know your limits. Which I do. So, whew! πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. It means a lot!

  5. I have enjoyed yoga in the past but have not done it some time. I think it would be a good addition to add back in. I don’t think I could behave in a class with you though. We would have to be on opposite sides of the room.

    • I’d like to do more. I won’t go back, right away, to hot-silent-seventy-five-minute yoga, but I keep hearing good things about “restorative” classes and would love to give one a try.

      I definitely think there are great benefits to the practice. Mind, body, sprit and all that jazz… I guess it’s like anything, you have to find the thing that works best for you.

      I’d *love* to be able to afford enough classes to experience the benefits.

    • And… oh yeah! There would be ZERO eye contact with you, too. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’d also have to keep you and my NS BFF separated! πŸ˜€

  6. Hey – good for you! Be patient and stick with it and you will be amazed at the benefits.

    P.S. Hot yoga is a challenge for the experienced – try a hatha or gentle class to get going.

    • Hiya! Thank you! Yes, I will try again.. or practice at home with a DVD until I know *something*. πŸ˜‰

      I am glad I went though. I did it and that was my only goal. I didn’t quit. I didn’t walk out and I didn’t talk! Amazing, eh?! πŸ˜€

      I think I’d like to try a restorative class. It’s strange how some poses – even if challenging – were okay and some were so *beyond* difficult. That twisty, squatty number the Scout Trooper is doing was just impossible.

      After the class my NS BFF and I were confused as to where one’s breasts, for example, go when one does that Scout Trooper crossed elbow thingy.

      So happy you visited! It means a lot. πŸ™‚

  7. Great post! I “fell” into yoga when my writer assigned me to write about trying yoga! A year later I was a certified instructor specializing in children, unique learners and seniors and ran my biz for 7 plus years until I sold it. I still teach one regular seniors’ class because I love them so much-but I volunteer now instead of getting paid! BUT not that big on the hot yoga depending on the class size and smell situation as some wear inappropriate clothing to hot yoga which makes everything smelly and I don’t like smelly. There, I said it:)

    • Oh my goodness, Laurel! When you fall, you do it with gusto! πŸ˜€ That is awesome!

      I’ve been here plotting all day, trying to figure out a way to have a yoga journey sponsored. πŸ™‚ I wonder if they’d want me to come back as a newbie and try to convert me? Think of the health benefits of a journey like that!

      You astound me! Seriously!

      Lots of people have suggested I try a gentler style to ease into it. I think I could get into it, but it is a bit cost prohibitive at the moment.

      Hot – and it was sweating from the back of your hands hot – yoga does come with a few icky things. The smell is a bit hard to shake, though I prepared myself for much worse.

      Thank you very much for reading and encouraging me!

  8. Good for you! I tried hot yoga and really liked it. If I could fit in yoga class I would, but for now it’s bootcamp and kickboxing, which I LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    • Thanks! I think I could like it a lot – after I have a few poses down – if given the chance.

      Kickboxing is amazing! Thing 1 did a version of it in Ottawa.

      Thank you for reading!

  9. I adore hot yoga. It is my favourite yoga. I just wish I had an extra arm and leg so that I could PAY for hot yoga.

    (I feel like hot yoga is actually EASIER because your muscles are so warmed up, they stretch better).

    • You do? It is?

      Yes. I agree. It’s pretty steep! I wonder if I could get a sponsor? Someone to aid in my total immersion into patchouli and sandalwood? πŸ˜‰

      I kid. It was great! Very challenging, but no pain afterwards and I was really pushing myself. I feel quite proud of myself (and my NS BFF) for going in the first place. I am sure the heat is great for joints and muscles.

      Thank you so much for reading!

  10. You are brave my friend! I tried plain old yoga on DVD but couldn’t really get into it. I bought a pilates dvd a while ago and still haven’t used it. I wish I had a buddy to do it with me. *ahem*

    • Thank you! I am willing to try anything – within reason – on this journey to fitness. I know that yoga has health benefits beyond the typical “lose weight, feel great” claims and I would like something I can practice/do until I am a little, old, wrinkly Peady well past my “prime”. πŸ˜€

      I have a DVD, too. And the Wii Fit has some poses. I might just start there.

      In a class, as in life, a buddy is essential! Is Skype yoga a thing? πŸ˜‰

  11. Great job! I love that Star Wars picture by the way. Too cute! Yes, I do Ashtanga yoga six days a week, and it’s changed my life. I’ve been doing that for seven years now – almost seven years, anyway. It has changed so many aspects of my life for the better. I hope you continue to enjoy!

    • Thank you! We were very proud of ourselves. Witty best friends in that situation *not* talking? OH MY ENLIGHTENMENT! That was hard work. I have since given us two gold stars. πŸ˜€

      I think it is amazing that you do that 6 days a week! Wow! You are very dedicated. It is life changing. I hear that time and again from people who regularly practice.

      I love the “Practice Makes Practice” mentality. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reading and for your encouraging words. It really means a lot.

    • That would be so awesome! πŸ˜€

      I love “Limp Dishrag”. That is one glorious way to nap – errmmm – meditate! Yeah. That’s it!

      You might need a straw for your milk to go with “Downward Facing Cake” in the “Limp Dishrag” pose.

      Thanks for visiting, commenting and cheering me on!

  12. Yoga has helped me heal in so many ways. This past year has held a lot of stress. Yoga helped me let go of a lot of emotions that were holding me back. I have yet to try hot yoga, but my first hot yoga class is tomorrow. I do yoga about 3 to 4 times a week. My gym is amazing and offers so many different types of yoga. I was skeptical paying so much for a membership, but I soon realized it was worth every penny. Happy you tried hot yoga. That’s a tough class to start with. It truly is axing what it does for the body, heart and soul. I love your blog! You are awesome!!

    • Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind words. It really means a lot.

      I hope to be able to go again, but it isn’t in the budget right now. Maybe I could try a Rec class, or something, in the Fall. I’ll figure it out – I always do. Perpetual works in progress! That’s what we all are, really.

      Life can knock us down, but it means no harm.. I’m sure it knows we will get right back up again. Sometimes we just need a nap first. πŸ˜‰

  13. ok i have no idea why i have NOT been reading you!!!
    (and I DO know you from Twitter!!! WEE!)

    so… Hot Yoga is definitely not for me. For a variety of health and philosophical reasons. BUT- we should totally go to a yoga class (not hot) together some day! ALSO- you should come out to Halifax Yoga in the Park this summer at Point Pleasant πŸ™‚

    • Me neither, but am I ever glad you decided to start! πŸ˜€

      Hi! Welcome to my humble bloggy abode. πŸ™‚
      (Yay, Twitter! Oh, how I *love* Twitter!)

      I hear mixed reviews – everything from “life changing” to I’d rather die” – when it comes to hot yoga. It’s a classic case for “to each his (her!) own”, I suppose. You really have to find the thing that works best for you.

      Yoga in the park sounds dreamy, actually. I have heard rave reviews about restorative classes, too!

      Thank you so much for visiting and reading and commenting. It really does mean a lot.

  14. Pingback: Get on Track! The Veggie Pack’s Back. | Tempered with Kindness

  15. Pingback: Happy Thursday: Silly Saves Me Edition. | Tempered with Kindness

  16. Pingback: S.U.N.D.A.Y. (Sunny Understanding. Not Denying Autumn. You? ) | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

