Yay! I get a taco!

Does everybody know what day it is?

Nope. It’s not Friday. Sorry, Jeni.

Nope. It’s not Monday. That was yesterday’s problem.

Want a hint?

tacotruck_lr3

That’s right! It’s Taco Tuesday!

Taco Tuesday is on regular rotation at Chez Peady and we always enjoy it. Sometimes the tacos are fancy, with my scrumptious – if I do say so myself – (and I do!) homemade guacamole. Sometimes it’s as basic as following the directions on a taco kit (name brand or otherwise). Sometimes they are filled with beef. Other times it’s chicken. Slow cooked or roasted. Simple and delicious. Even fish tacos are a hit ’round here! We just love tacos.

We try to change it up a little bit each time, so that we don’t grow tired of our Taco Tuesday tradition. There’re so many ways that a simple meal can be made interesting, and tacos are perfect for customization. From the fillings to the shells, to the toppings and the sauces, there’s a myriad of ways to make tacos – and to make them fun!

Tonight’s beef tacos were awesome! Nothing too fancy, but the ingredients were fresh, everyone was looking forward to dinner together, and everything turned out just right.

 

I think next Taco Tuesday we’ll try a vegetarian version made with Chickpeas. I know Thing 1 and Thing 2 will give them a try and very likely will enjoy them.

They’ll try anything! They’ve yet to turn up their noses at a single taco trick. From Beer Battered Haddock to Spaghetti*, from beef to books about the topic, I say “Tacos!” and they say “Si!” How lucky are we?

 

 

 

 

*You can find the awesome Taco Truck (and many other examples of awesome) pictured above here.

**ย Yeah, you read that right.

*** My new favourite thing to say. I shared it’s sourceย here.

 

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11714727/?claim=jptrzufp7gn”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

22 thoughts on “Yay! I get a taco!

    • They were so good! The plain Greek yogurt is even better than sour cream! Extra protein!

      I am so lucky that Thing 1 & Thing 2 are such excellent eaters. They really will give anything I make a try! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Don’t you just want those little Taco Truck Taco Holders now? ๐Ÿ˜›

      Thank you for reading!

  1. Tacos are a big hit here too. They are the only thing that all 6 of us like. ‘Building’ them is part of the fun. My youngest doesn’t make tacos, he builds them.

    Love how the pictures are arranged, and that I can click on each of them.

  2. I love me a Taco salad with lots of greens and gluten free chips crumbled in with some on the side for dipping! I starting subbing Greek yogurt for Sour cream about four years ago…so good and so good for you!

    • Oh, I *love* Taco Salad! Most times I skip the shells altogether and make myself a big taco salad instead. No risk of gluten and low carb, to boot! Perhaps one of the best side effects of Taco Tuesday is Taco-Salad-for-Lunch Wednesday!

      A delicious topping for the salad option (besides the obvious, salsa & guacamole) is sour cream/Greek yogurt with some Tex-Mex seasoning mixed in. Let it sit for a while to allow the flavours to develop. So yummy!

      Greek yogurt is excellent! Again, I am so happy my Things like a variety of foods! They make it easy to substitute and change things up.

  3. oh my goodness. I’m starving and this isn’t helping. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really want you to post your chickpea recipe for veg tacos. Also, please do a monthly series on what unique taco you’re doing and how we can do it too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • My kids love Chickpeas! I am so happy they do, because they are so inexpensive and delicious! Full of fibre and decent addition protein-wise, too!

      Sometimes we add Black beans to the taco filling, btw. Any way to get in another level of nutrition, right?

      I have so many taco photos! I really wanted to make a collage last night of all the variety, but didn’t want people to grow tired of so many pictures.

      I will share the Chickpea recipe and guacamole recipe, soon.

      That would be a fun feature! Can we call it: “Let’s taco ’bout Taco Tuesday”? ๐Ÿ˜€

      Also, how amazing are the Fred & Friends products?!? I want so many of them!

    • I love Nachos! Yes! You can personalize them just like MYO Pizza! MYO Nachos? Totally a thing!

      It also leaves the door open for kiddos to try something new. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The taco truck ~ what a great idea! We’ve never liked taco shells here, I make either tortilla bread or pita bread for ours, but we also don’t have them all that often. I guess because I have never lived with a weekly food menu. The only thing that is regular for meals is I don’t cook on grocery day, it is always a whatever you want day.

    • So cute, eh? I love those Fred & Friends products. There are so many great ones!

      Yes, we always have options for everyone – soft, hard, salad! It works out well! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • ALWAYS HAVE TACOS!

      Oops! Heh heh. Sorry. I didn’t mean to yell, but it was so exciting having such yummy tacos after a very brief hiatus. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. My favourite way to eat tacos is at the end of the meal when it’s all disintegrated into a mess of broken tortillas, lettuce, veggies, salsa and all the other accoutrement. I call it (however unoriginal) “Mexican Salad.” mmmmmm

    • Oh yes!! I agree! Thing 2 and I often make a Taco Salad with the fallout of Taco Tuesday! The best! Most satisfying, spicy, slop on a bed of lettuce! Mmm! Olรฉ!

      Thanks for visiting! I so appreciate the support!

  6. Pingback: Happy Cinco de Mayo! | Tempered with Kindness

    • Heh heh! (So many naughty quips!) ๐Ÿ˜›

      Me, too! I kind of want a pantry to store all the Fred & Friends “stuffs”. ๐Ÿ˜€

      You are just the coolest. Thank you for your support! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Isn’t that the best? I seriously want some! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Fred & Friends – should be *my* friends!)

      We typically have hard and soft (flour or corn), but I *so* needed a taco that night so we went with hard corn! They were spectacular. Honestly. ๐Ÿ™‚

      You’ll have to share your tortilla adventure! I love all the fun things that Mexican foods can inspire.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I means a lot!

  7. Pingback: Totally Terrific Taco Tuesday | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

