Huevos Rancheros – It’s like Brinner in a sombrero!

Last night was Huevos Rancheros night on the “Tex-Mex Week” menu and it went even better than expected.

Breakfast for dinner, or “Brinner”, is always a popular meal at Chez Peady and it (conveniently) seems to fall, most often, mid-week, which is exactly when I need the break – and I mean I need a break, fast (Hah!) – of a simple supper. Since it is Tex-Mex Week, and on a Wednesday, Huevos Rancheros was the logical choice!

Now there are a lot of really fancy ways* to make this extremely simple dish, but remember that break I needed… yes, I had places to go and people to see. In fact there was an especially good reason for me to choose a simple and speedy approach to last night’s dinner. There  was a thing at a place with some stuff** and well, I had to be there – on time!

Once again, the goal was to offer a delicious, healthy meal that everyone would enjoy. Since we have one tomato lover and one tomato tolerator, I decided to make the components separately and allow each diner to customize Brinner to his or her liking. This is what works best for my family, generally speaking, but especially on an evening when I am pressed for time. The last thing I want is to have to have a discussion about trying new things, when all I really am trying to do is bolt. (Should I wait here for all the parenting awards? Or…?)

Not surprisingly, Thing 1 and Thing 2 tried everything, anyway. Thing 1 *loves* this meal. There were lots of spicy, bold flavours and that’s what he enjoys. Thing 2 tried the Chorizo and decided it was a tad too hot for her taste, but piled on lots of fresh tomato. So, it’s really just another case of “To each, his/her own”. In the end, everyone was full, happy, and I wasn’t too late for my thing.

Here is what it all looked like!

 

Huevos Rancheros Wednesday was wonderful!

Have you ever had Huevos Rancheros? Do you enjoy breakfast for dinner? Do you call it “Brinner”? What is your go-to breakfast for dinner? What would be on your ideal breakfast for dinner menu?

 

*Like this, this, this or this!

**I had to be at an event at Thing 2’s school at 7 to hear a talk given by a person who has helped Thing 1 immensely. I was *not* going to miss it!

10 thoughts on “Huevos Rancheros – It’s like Brinner in a sombrero!

  1. We’ve done Brinner but not called it Brinner, I know I’ve used another term but it escapes me at the moment, Brupper? maybe? cause Seakfest sounds a bit too uh well you say it in your head?..back to what I was going to say, uh bacon! bacon is my breakfast for supper item of choice. Thick cut.

    • I love bacon when we have brinner! Well, I love bacon. Period. If I’m being honest. 🙂

      Brinner makes me laugh. Brupper is also good.

      The Things love pancakes, too! I should really get some sort of decent griddle so I can make better ones.

  2. Ha I had a simpler but similar version. Eggs, bacon pieces. Made Sherman some toast with his and is had salsa on mine.. Yummy

  3. omg omg !! I LOVE Huevos Rancheros and I’ve been looking for a good recipe that isn’t too difficult. Can’t wait to try this. I had Huevos Rancheros for the first time at Coastal Cafe!

  4. FYI in Spain where folks eat supper late- a fried egg is pretty standard for supper- BRINNER FOR ALL! Yummy huevos rancheros chica- you are one spice momma!

  5. I love Brinner and each and every ingredient you listed. The best part is that my DH can have it spicy with the help of sauces and The Kids can have their mild. Looking forward to creating with tortillas this weekend.

    Besos, Sarah

    • Yes, Brinner is always a win. 🙂 I like that it can be mellow or spicy, too! Everyone is happy then.

      I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

