Thursday Thought Explosion (or Please Excuse Me While I Tidy Up My Brain)

IMG_1757

Achievement unlocked. Thing 2’s very first ride on an actual roller coaster. Pure joy!

Let me start by saying that I know it is no longer Thursday.

My brain was messier than imagined and so Thursday turned into Friday (as it does) and July turned into August, too. Where on Earth is summer going and why must it go so quickly? Can’t it just learn to linger longer? I really wish it would just learn to chill out and laze around, so that we all could follow suit.

Oh well, since that’s not happening anytime soon, I better just keep on moving forward, right? I mean it beats the heck out of the alternative.

Onward, we go!

This summer has been a bit of a roller coaster. We have had a lot of ups and downs and so far, thankfully, the ups are out numbering the downs (Although, to be fair, the downs have been doozies!). Is there an actual roller coaster in the world that ends on an up? I’d like that! Most of them end on downs, don’t they? Is life like that? I am not sure, but I suspect it’s very likely. It seems inevitable to have a down just when you do not want one.

I like this roller coaster as life metaphor, so before I go and ruin it for myself forever with all this waxing philosophical about ending with a down, I’m moving on.

Suffice it to say, life is like a roller coaster. Enjoy the ride or freak out and be paralyzed with fear. It matters not. The ride isn’t over until your time is up, but I can guarantee that you will be a lot happier – and maybe even have some fun – if you at least open yourself up to the concept of sitting back and taking those ups and downs as they come and learning to enjoy the ride. Life is short. So, too, are the ups and downs. We just don’t always see that clearly as we are being flung around the curves in the track.

I have a lot more to say. I have some terrific adventures to share and some wonderful photos from those adventures, but I think for right now, I’ll just leave this here.

I have a big surprise for Thing 1 & Thing 2 this morning. It’s time to go get ourselves a wonderful up!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Thursday Thought Explosion (or Please Excuse Me While I Tidy Up My Brain)

  1. Ooooh! Now I want to know what surprise you have in store!

    I’m sorry the downs have been doozies. Just because real rollercoasters end down all the time doesn’t mean the metaphorical rollercoasters have to!

    • You are so fun! I am grateful you were put in my path. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The doozies really can be terrible, but it’s so important to remember that even doozies don’t last forever (even if the doozie itself, kind of does). Life goes on, doesn’t it?

      We’ll just keep on looking UP! It’s best that way. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I’m a huge fan of rollercoasters but metaphorical rollercoasters? Not so much. I get that there have to be ups to life’s downs but give me a nice, level, even track and I’ll be happy!

    Do share the surprise!

    • I love roller coasters. I am even *mostly* okay with the metaphorical ones, but every now and then… hoo boy! You know? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you so much for your support! It means a lot!

      I will share the surprise.

  3. love it and I love rollercoasters. I want to live life, it’s up and it’s down and learn from it all, take what I learn and make life that much more exciting. Yes I do occasionally like the level parts but it does get boring that way!
    I hope you downs pass soon and you can enjoy the excitement it has to offer!

    • I love your perspective!

      You are a really special person, Sheila. A gem! Honest to goodness! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Oh, I think we are *click click click*-ing our way UP! Lots of good to see and do. Always, really.

      Living it!

    • Of course you did! Of course!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Such a wonderful scene. I need to see that movie again, soon.

      I was horrified when they were making the TV series. Honestly. Who would have thought it would be so incredibly wonderful? Yet it is.

      Thank you for your support!

  4. Pingback: Drop and Give Me 15! | Tempered with Kindness

  5. Wow. Well written. I really like the sentiment. And a there are no nice level even tracks. The sooner you realize it the better. Enjoy that ride.

Leave a Reply

