Thirty-Four Years. That’s Quite the Run!

Last Friday, Thing 2 participated in her school’s Terry Fox Walk. I wrote my usual lunch note for her, but I included one of my very favourite Terry Fox quotes.

“It took cancer to realize that being self-centered is not the way to live. The answer is to try and help others.” ~ Terry Fox

She didn’t know what I wrote until she saw the note at lunch.

Before we headed down for the bus she ran to her room and came out with a handful of coins from her piggy bank.

Oh my heart! The little hand with all her little quarters and nickels and dimes.

We must be doing something right.

 

Oh sure, there’s that, but this kid… she’s something else. All on her own.

Terry Fox Walk @ St. Rita's (Sept. 14, 2007)

Looking sporty in Roots from head to toe for her first Terry Fox Walk showing her Canadian pride!

 

I helped her put her donation in her back pack and explained why I choose each year to add $1 per person in our family.

 

“When I started this run, I said that if we all gave one dollar, we’d have $22 million for cancer research, and I don’t care man, there’s no reason that isn’t possible. No reason!” ~ Terry Fox

 

It’s what Terry wanted.

 

I did it!

“I did it!” Second Terry Fox Walk under her teeny belt. Her Big Bro set quite the example and she knew she was a part of something special.

 

I couldn’t stop tearing up on Friday. Maybe it’s because Terry Fox was a kid.. or maybe it’s that I remember him from when I was a kid.. but I just kept thinking about how his family – and country and the world at large carried on his Marathon of Hope just as he wished. What a beautiful tribute to his life!

 

Terry Fox Inspirational Quotes signs

These are the signs I made for Thing 1’s 3rd Grade class. It’s amazing what a paint stir stick and a bit of time can do! The kiddos loved the signs. Simple. Of *course* the baby sister had a sign, too!

 

 

“If you’ve given a dollar, you are part of the Marathon of Hope .”

 

I love that his legacy lives on through so many children who take part in these events year after year.

Thing 1 with his sign.

This photo makes me cry. Grade 3 was a very challenging year for Thing 1 and this quote was very intentionally given to him. There’s *always* a bright side! One of my all time faves.

 

“Even if I don’t finish, we need others to continue. It’s got to keep going without me.”

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Don’t worry, Terry, it has gone on without you. It goes on and on and on.

Every year in 25 countries all over the world.

To date The Terry Fox Foundation has raised $650 million* to support cancer research in Terry’s name.

Not bad for some Canadian kid, eh?

 

Do you participate in the Terry Fox Run? Do your children take part at school? Do you have memories of Terry Fox?

Please share in the comments. I’d love to hear what you have to say.

 

 

*Of course you can always donate directly, anytime of the year here.

18 thoughts on “Thirty-Four Years. That’s Quite the Run!

  1. They did the Terry Fox run at my girls’ school this year as usual. This year my youngest asked if she would be allowed to donate her own money to the cause.

    Well of course you can, kid.

    They’re amazing little beings, aren’t they?

    • See? And now I am also crying because of *your* Thing! 😀

      Aren’t kids just the coolest? They are! they are the coolest.

      Great kids!

      They are amazing. Period.

      Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. It means a lot!

  2. Sadly the day came and went. 😦 the schools here do it too but with all the other “we need money for…” within those first weeks of September? I don’t even think I saw the paper.

    • Aw, that’s too bad.

      I’d much rather hand over a bit of money to Terry Fox than to many of the other “we need money for …” things that come home those first few weeks.

      In Ottawa, the Things’ school did such a better job of anything charitable. Hands down. Giving was key. In a good way.

      Charity begins at home and all that jazz. 🙂

      I was thinking that very thing, by the way… which is why I included the link to the TFF. Just in case later in the year a dollar becomes available. 😉

    • I agree! It starts immediately, actually. 😀

      They are very nice people, my Things. I feel very grateful.

      I love that school makes an effort to join in these events. It makes a nice association between fun and giving.

      I hope that association sticks!

  3. Nice share. You should really forward this one to terry fox foundation. It speaks beautifully to many lovely unintended outcomes of the annual run. On another note, many schools simply do a toonie for terry or even just the run as community and awareness building. There is great value in these approaches…

    • Thank you.

      You are literally my favourite … sister. 😀

      Maybe I will… wouldn’t that be bold of me! 😉
      (Today’s the day! Wait ’til we talk!!)

      I LOVE the community building aspect, so much! Yes! We need more of that. The idea that walking together is raising awareness for a cause is beautiful. It gets kids thinking about what it means to take part, use their little voices and start movements!

      There is extreme value in the act itself. We Act. *ding ding ding ding*

      I can’t wait to hear about *your* day!

  4. What a lovely post.

    Our school does a run/walk & the pup & I joined the kids.

    This year they raised over $4000 & the staff either dyed their hair pink or shaved their heads in support of a teacher fighting breast cancer.

    We sent money & the kids took some of their own too (on their own initiative).

    Such a wonderful legacy Terry left us.

    • I am so happy that the pup was allowed to join you. That’s terrific!

      I love that schools carry on this tradition and as my Big Sis pointed out, sometimes even if it is just a way of growing a community bond and no money is raised it is still a beautiful act.

      Raising $4000 in the name of a teacher who is battling cancer is beautiful. *tears* One of our very favourite teachers in Ottawa beat her cancer and I never got to *squeeze* the bajoopees out of her because we moved away. You just reminded me that I should send her a little hug in the mail. Thank you.

      I love that the kiddos understand that they can really help and make a difference!

      He was such a baby! Think of yourself at 18, 19, 20… hoo boy! He was a very special person and I like to think that Tommy Douglas only got 1st place so that Terry could live long enough to start his own legacy and get 2nd. 🙂

    • You are so nice!

      I miss you so much! I keep talking about you. Remember how I would always mention my friends from “away”? Well, now you are one of them! 😀 I find myself bringing you up all the time.

      December is not so far away!

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your beautiful family!

  5. I love the $1 statement because it’s so true. It reminds me of the question “How do you eat an elephant?” One bite (or dollar) at a time. Thank you so much for giving your time, heart and money to a cause that affects all of us, directly and indirectly.

    Besos, Sarah

    • Thank you. It’s very true.

      I love that “How do you eat an elephant?” comparison. That’s exactly it!

      Thank you for your very kind and continued support.

  6. Pingback: November Nonsense: A Peady Photo A Day Challenge | Tempered with Kindness

Leave a Reply

