Out of the Mouths of Babes, Oft Times Come Gems.

This is a post I drafted the day Cpl. Nathan Cirillo was killed while doing the most honourable of duties, guarding the National War Memorial in our Nation’s Capital, Ottawa, Ontario. He was taking care of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Honour Guard. The events of this day were devastating to all the people who were affected and especially to the family of Cpl. Cirillo. He left behind many people who loved him. No one more than his son

I had planned on posting this little conversation I had with my daughter, the next day, but I just couldn’t because I was simply too sad. There were too many unknowns. So, I just tucked it away.

Today, I have had a change of heart. Here is the post.

 

Thing 2 is a very smart person.

We were discussing recent events of the world and I asked her, “Why can’t everyone just be nice and good all the time? Why do some people have to be mean and bad?”

This was her response:

“Because some people like it that way. It’s like the Lego Movie, you know? Lord Business? They want everything to be perfect, but their perfect is just … different.”

I love this kid.

I am so glad she is mine.

I am lucky to be her Mom.

 

That’s it.

So why the change of heart today?

Well, first thing this morning I saw this beautiful message of hope and inspiration. 

 

It made me think about Cpl. Cirillo again, which in turn made me think of Thing 2’s perspective and remember our conversation.

Then, while running errands with my children after school, I made a purchase – of alligator clips for completing homemade poppies for Remembrance Day, no less – I received this back as my change. It was definitely a sign.

 

1994 War Memorial Dollar

 

 

 

There are trust funds for Cpl. Cirillo’s son, Marcus, and you can find them here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths of Babes, Oft Times Come Gems.

    • She’s a pretty entered person. There’ a reason we called her our “Zen Baby”.

      Be here now. Remember?

      I just love her.

      And I love you for commenting. Thank you.

  1. Very wise daughter you have. She will be one of the good ones I just know it and will make a difference in this world. And wow, that is crazy awesome about the coin.

    I almost watched that video the other day. Now I really have to.

    • She really is wise beyond her years. I believe she will be, too!

      Isn’t that an amazing coincidence? I really believe in signs. I think it was one.

      Please watch the video. That was from a convocation at Cape Breton University (formerly UCCB). It’s beautiful and hopeful and I just am a fan of Wab Kinew.

  2. I haven’t seen or received that loonie but when I do, I will tell my kids about it. I’ve added the “Stand on Guard” Fund to my list of Charities to donate to. Thanks for sharing having such a special daughter and being such a great mom.

    Besos, Sarah
    Journeys of The Zoo

    • It’s not the first one we have had pass through our lives, but it was very timely, that’s for sure. Such a sad story and tomorrow will be especially emotional in Ottawa, I am sure.

      That is a beautiful choice, Sarah.

      She is a very special little girl.:)

      Thank you for reading and supporting my efforts. I greatly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

