Cover me!

This has been a busy, fun, very musical week.

It all started on Monday when Kim at Co-Pilot Mom made a shocking and entirely awesome string of confessions and then it just got better and more musical from there.

On Friday my friend Rebecca (“Bitsy” to her best tweeps) at A Little Bit of Momsense updated her “Current Song Obsession” and it made my day.

I thought it would be fun for me to follow suit and share a few of the songs that I just can’t stop playing.

 

I seem to be all about the covers lately.

The first one is a cover of “When Doves Cry” by Prince. I know. I know. Risky territory. And yet somehow this works.

Here is The Be Good Tanyas with their version.

 

I’ve written before about my love of Walk Off The Earth and everyone knows about their Gotye cover, but have you heard this?

They are amazing musicians! The video is just too cute! They have a great YouTube channel and I think everyone should check it out.

 

Here’s another song that we seem to always enjoy, no matter who is performing it.

Pentatonix! Who knew?!

 

On Saturday I had grand plans to attend a Christmas Craft Show, but it just was not in the cards.

You know what was in the cards? More music!

Thing 1 plays trumpet in his school band. His trumpet is in desperate need of a cleaning and we needed a new cleaning kit. So, with the clock ticking*, I rounded up my little family and we hit the road and high-tailed it to our local music store for a kit and, as luck would have it, a trumpet stand. (Musical instruments in cases are not happy, played musical instruments. As my big brother would say, “Are you a trumpet player or a trumpet owner?” Note the difference.**) With the stand he will be able to see his trumpet more often and hopefully play it more often, too.

After our musical victory with all things trumpet, we felt we deserved a little treat, so we went to a 50’s diner and had dinner.***

Do you know what any 50s diner worth its salt has? A Jukebox!

Do you know what any mother worth her salt always has when she goes to a 50s diner? Quarters!

Do you know what this all leads to? More music!

 

After dinner we came home to play a board game, but since I had a NaBloPoMo post to write I asked for a bit of time first. The Things kindly obliged and I came to my desktop to write, but something was missing. I needed some music.****

So, I fired up Songza and found not one, but two new favourite channels – “Disney’s Best Sing-Alongs” and “Singin’ in the Rain”.

 

So, would you agree that it was a very musical week?

Are you a fan of music? Do you sing?

What kind of music is your favourite?

What is *your* current music obsession?

 

 

 

 

*The music store closes at 5 on Saturdays and is closed on Sundays. Time was of the essence! We arrived at 4:54. Whew!

**Note the difference!

***Because *sings* Dinner in the diner.. nothing could be finer.. than to have your ham and eggs in Carolina!

****I may have a problem. Who’s to say? It’s a mystery, really!

24 thoughts on “Cover me!

    • It takes no time. I play music a LOT and so I just let things play. πŸ™‚

      Sometimes I hear a song on the radio and just *need* to know who it is so I go and see. YouTube can be a wonderful thing! πŸ˜€ If the video is decent, I consider sharing.

      How do you find your current musical obsessions? OR has Seasonal tune-age taken a strong hold? πŸ˜‰

      • I have the radio on a lot, too, but I find the repeaty nature to be obnoxious. I love Songza (FREE, btw) because there is a Concierge and a “Moods” list and I always find something that is PERFECT for my mood.

        Currently? “Your Own 80s Training Montage” and I can totally see how this would ROCK on the treadmill.

        There are lots of seasonal choices, too! πŸ˜€

  1. What a fun post! We are huge music people and I totally agree about the instruments being happier not in their cases. I’m totally obsessed with the new Mary Lambert album – it is fantastic. I’m always on the search for more though!

    • Oh, well good. I just love your blog and now I am all happy with warm fuzzies because I know you love to sing! πŸ™‚

      My brother is a very lovely and wise human being. Such a musician!! Amazing!

      Songza!! Yes. Online on your desktop or in the app store. I love it! Seriously.

  2. It apparently WAS a very musical week for you.

    Um… I’m slightly anti-music. I think it has to do with my hearing – it isn’t awesome. And my husband cannot listen to music at a volume where I can hear conversation, so I kind of get my back up with music. Now, I do love singing so sometimes, when I’m in the mood, I like some good, singable music. Or listening music at a low volume.

    • It really was. πŸ™‚

      Aww. Well, I can understand that. Hearing and noise levels can be sworn enemies. I get it.

      You might really enjoy Songza, too, because there are so many wonderfully organized categories. Everything from Ambient to Zydeco!

      • We pretty much use Songza exclusively. Or Spotify. That’s the new one, right? I don’t know. I don’t really touch it – I just use Songza sometimes when I [used to] run.

      • I haven’t tried Spotify, but I heard an interesting tidbit about T-Swift and Spotify yesterday… I’ll have to read more.

        I think I am a Songza girl. From the moment I wake up till I am drifting off to the sounds of the Atlantic, Songza is just right. πŸ™‚

    • Yes. Yes it does!

      There were THREE at our table of four. πŸ˜‰

      You know what else this diner will do? They’ll serve a burger bunless by request and not make the requester feel like a dingbat! πŸ˜€

      We love True North. Great service, great atmosphere.

    • I love them all. (There are MANY more) (Have you ever heard The Killers version of “Romeo & Juliet”? *swoons*)

      Material Girl!! So cute and she is way pregnant in that video. Just adorable.

      It’s so nice to see you .. er.. read you.. here! Thank you for swinging by. πŸ˜€

  3. I need to make time to watch more music videos. But where oh where is the time???

    My current song obsessions are Come Along by Vicci and Steal my Girl by One Direction.

Leave a Reply

