Sorry, Wrong Number.

Phone

The following is a true story that happened today.

*rrriiiing*

*rrriiiing*

Me: Hello!

Dude: “HE WON’T BE COMING BECAUSE IT’S SNOWIN’ LIKE A  B@STARD, HERE.”

Me: *blink blink*

I’m sorry, but you have *got* to have the wrong number.

Dude: *audible gasp*

*chuckle*

“Oh my God! I’m SOOOO sorry!”

*laughter*

“I am so, so sorry. Sorry!”

Me: That’s all right. Don’t sweat it. I hope you find the person you’re looking for. Bye.

*disconnect*

 

Sometimes you just have to laugh – with a stranger, apparently.

 

I think technology is making us all a little bit .. umm .. well .. to use a phrase Thing 1 might use, “Well, doi!”.

What do you think?

Is technology making us ridiculous?

Has human interaction become foreign, somehow?

 

Do you think we are becoming to fellow humans, as these aliens were to the phone?

 

 

 

 

*This looks identical to the phone that was in my house when I was a kid.

**Little Known Peady Fact: My iThing rings like an old phone because the ring tone is – wait for it – “Old Phone”.

***Full disclosure: We are watching “Her” and I am having thoughts!

Source: http://dnok91peocsw3.cloudfront.net/inspiration/153210-612×612-1.png

 

10 thoughts on “Sorry, Wrong Number.

  1. My grandparents had the exact same phone. I remember using it when I was about 5, and we only had to dial the last four digits of the number you were calling. It stayed in the exact same spot on the wall for the next 30 years, or so.

    Thanks for the clip. Watching it was just enough to relax the pukey five yeat old, so he could drift back to sleep.

    • That’s the phone that was above the telephone table (Remember those?!?) in the hallway of my house. I wish I had that telephone table, hallway, house… 😉

      It was the only phone we had until my sister (and I – to a lesser extent) got a phone installed in our teeny room in the 80’s – and that phone was beige!

      I loved that Black phone. I loved the way you could control the volume of the ring with the little tab at the bottom. I loved that I could take apart the receiver! 😀

      Kids remember the little things.

      I laughed at that clip after my experience yesterday. I am glad I am in Nova Scotia because the man on the other end of the line was clearly (slightly) mortified and embarrassed.. and he apologized. But I felt bad for him in a way. I have been in other places (you know where) where the person on the other end would then call back and yell at me or insist I was somehow at fault for their mistake. Hoo boy!

      I hope little man feels better today. Mine seems to be feeling a lot better. The trick with mine is to keep him hydrated. It’s a real challenge!

      Thank you for your comment. It made my day!

  2. I sure do miss phone conversations. It seems as if texts are thee standard now 😦
    I had this guy text me about his Mom coming out of the hospital. I text him back, I’m sorry to hear about your mom, I’m glad she is doing better, but you have the wrong number. I could feel his smile through the phone when he replied back with a thankful text.
    Happy Weekend!
    XOXO

  3. Until very recently, my parents had a flesh-coloured touch-tone phone in their bedroom. It weighed a ton! But then my dad somehow dropped it and it broke, after all those years of service. At my in-laws’, there is still a rotary dial phone and the kids find it fascinating!

    • It’s amazing how long those big sturdy phones last!! Even being dropped usually doesn’t hurt them.

      The cheap plastic ones that were prevalent in the 90s were the worst!

      Remember the 80s phones? Hamburgers and lips?

      Thanks for visiting! I’m happy you are here. 😀

Leave a Reply

