Fudge! (The Recipe)

Oh, you knew it was bound to happen.

Here is my go-to recipe for fudge.

 

FUDGE

2 cups Brown Sugar

1 cup Margarine (or real butter!)

6 ozs. Carnation (canned) Milk (Yes. Really. I know. I know. Just trust me.)

Boil for 10 minutes at Med. High Heat

Remove from heat and add:

2 Cups Icing Sugar

Vanilla (about a teaspoon – or to taste)

Beat for 2 minutes with elecric mixer.
________________________________________

For Chocolate* Fudge add 1/3 Cups of Cocoa

9″ x 13″ pan

 

 

All the usual rules apply. Score the fudge before it cools completely to make cutting the little squares easier.

Now go forth and fudge-ify!

 

Let me know how it turns out!

 

 

*We have made this into a Mint Chocolate as well, by swapping mint extract for the vanilla.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Fudge! (The Recipe)

  1. yes yes yes! The GB recipe! my MIL handed this recipe down to me, and oh the yummy! doesn’t have to be carnation (evil eye in the direction of Carnation). noname works.

    • Ha ha ha! Isn’t that funny? It makes me think of the cabbage roll recipe that made the rounds. So yummy!

      Yeah, “Carnation” in my house was “Co-Op”. True story. 😉

      The copy of this recipe at my mother’s house has the originator’s name and “849” telephone number on it! 😀

      Glad I could provide you with a giggle.

  2. Thanks so much Lola….I have to confess something…I have NEVER made fudge- I was too scared of any recipe involving a candy thermometer. Thanks for helping me tackle my very irrational fear with this great recipe- I hope to go forth and fudge on!

    • You are so welcome! 😀

      Right?!?! Scary too-hot-oh-no-it’s-not-at-the-right-stage thermometers *are* intimidating!

      I hope it turns out for you! I am sure it will.

      I know some people – who prefer a thicker square- would put the entire recipe into an 8×8 pan, as well.. so you can always try that!

      I am making it for Christmas, for sure!

  3. I’ve never made fudge either. We actually aren’t big fudge fans in this house – I buy some at craft sales and it never gets finished. I’m also afraid I’d screw it up. I should try some for Christmas gifts.

    • It can be intimidating, but this recipe is fool proof!

      I also have others, but I can’t share until I try them. They are also easy. No candy thermometer required!

      I think it’s great as a homemade gift! It’s lovely to receive a special treat!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. It really means a lot. 🙂

    • Yay! I like learning new things, don’t you?

      Fudge is such a scrumptious temptation! I almost never make it for that reason alone. I make it when I am making it for someone else, or when I am giving it away to an event/bake sale type thing. In other words, very, very, seldom.

      Christmas is coming and that means a LOT of awesome craft shows with fudge. So it has been on my mind.

      I should have linked the two recent fudge posts. 😉

      Thanks for reading!

    • Hah! Yes. Well, I figure it’s fudge. There will be sugar.

      In fact, I kind of think of it as pure sugar. It helps keep the nibbling to a minimum.

      But now, the people need to know…

      What’s in *your* recipe? 😀 Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

