NaBloPoMo No Mo’

Chained to work

This is it. I have reached the end of my NaBloPoMo journey and I am happy to report that I survived!

For the past thirty days I have written (mostly) a post a day as a part of National Blog Posting Month.

What an exhausting challenge!

Seriously. All you writers who write under the pressure of a deadline all the live-long day – every single day – my hat* is off to you. You are one very dedicated and disciplined bunch of people. Good for you!

I have learned a lot during these thirty days.

I have unlearned a few things, too.

I’ve had some pretty good confirmations, as well. I procrastinate. It works for me, sometimes, as procrastination does. When it works out, I get a rush of adrenaline that makes all the suppression of fleeing the scene worthwhile. When it doesn’t work, well, may we never know!

Oh yes, that random positive reinforcement is quite the thrill, but it is certainly no gentleman.

Clearly, whether it is right or wrong, I work well under pressure. When there is nowhere to run to, baby, no where to hide, I find my stride.

This, as you can imagine, can be very draining on a person’s energy stores. There were nights when I was up way later than I should have been. There were mornings that came way too early. Early Band** days very nearly did me in.

My husband and my Things were the most supportive humans on the planet (they usually are, by the way). They were cool with my vanishing to write or upload photos. They really were, but I was not comfortable with missing anything important, so I was very much burning my candle at both ends. Thank goodness this is a 30 day month. I honestly don’t think I could handle 31***.

I think this was a really good exercise for me. I wrote every day and I believe the practice was good. I felt a sense of accomplishment/panic every single time I hit “Publish”, but I kept right on hitting it. Go me!

I am sure I will have that oh-no-I-slept-through-my-exam panic at least once this week, as I plan on not posting every day for December. I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

I mean, I love writing for this little ol’ blog and I love the people who read, comment, and even ask me to write a little something here or there for them, but I have very strong feelings about not being chained to my computer (for work or hobby or otherwise!). If anything was highlighted this month, it’s that there is a whole world out there just waiting to be experienced, nurtured and changed.

Besides, when I get to be Empress of the Universe and fulfill my destiny as a professional philanthropist, I won’t have time to be attached to my computer.

Face Time

 

But feel free to call me.

 

Now, please point me in the direction of the best darn gluten free cake you can think of because this gal needs to celebrate!

 

 

 

*I’m not actually wearing a hat, but if I am getting a hat in your imagination make it something cool and festive, okay? Thanks!

**More so.

***But I would, because PRESSURE!

 

Source: http://www.alec-longstreth.com/writing/2008/chained.jpg

Source: http://www.smashingmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/techno.sm9_.gif

16 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo No Mo’

    • Thank you! It sure feels like one. 😀

      No cake yet. Hrrrmmm.. there really ought to be some sort of Cake Signal( you know, like the Bat Signal?), where I flash a flood light and voila! Cake! 😉

  1. Congrats! I just finished NaBloPoMo too and boy am I tired! 🙂 It was great fun though, and I learned much from it too. But I’m not continuing into December either…at least not daily.

    • Thank you! Congratulations to you, too! It’s is a great exercise, but yeah. HOLY exhausting! 😀

      Now I have to go read your final post! 😉

      Support is a wonderful thing, isn’t it?

    • Yay! Proud of you. It wasn’t easy, that’s for sure.

      I love the breakdowns a few fellow bloggers came up with at the end. About what can be learned. So true!

      Have you read any?

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! It fuels the bloggy fire! 😉

    • Thank you! I would encourage you to give it a go next year. I was fully open to the idea of failing and every day I managed to post a something felt like a big accomplishment.

      It isn’t easy. Especially when you have all that real life “stuff” going on still. 😉

      Thanks so much for visiting and reading. It means a lot to me. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

